We are making some major changes, so please pardon our dust during site reconstruction. Some information may be out of date or incomplete. If you need help, email us at alt.current [at] gmail.com.

Alternating Current Press Home PageAlternating Current Press Home PageAlternating Current Press Home PageClick Here for Your CartAlternating Current Press Home PageAlternating Current Home PageAlternating Current Press CatalogAlternating Current Press SubmissionsAlternating Current Press AuthorsFootnote, A Literary Journal of HistoryAlternating Current Awards and GrantsAlternating Current FAQAlternating Current Press EventsAbout Alternating CurrentAlternating Current Mailing ListAlternating Current Editing ServicesAlternating Current Critiquing ServicesThe Coil, The Journal of Alternating Current PressThe Coil, The Journal of Alternating Current PressDonate to Alternating CurrentMarginalized Writers ResourcesAlternating Current on PatreonAlternating Current Press Special ProjectsAlternating Current Members Only PortalsAlternating Current on TwitterAlternating Current on FacebookAlternating Current on PatreonAlternating Current on ElloAlternating Current on Google+Alternating Current on GoodreadsAlternating Current on AmazonAlternating Current on VimeoAlternating Current on YouTubeAlternating Current on DropboxAlternating Current on InstagramImage HTML map generator

• Million Writers Award Nominations •

About Alternating Current’s Million Writers Award Nominations

We here at Alternating Current Press feel that it is highly important to reward our authors with every possible chance for recognition of their fine crafts. We are pleased to announce that we have been nominating our authors’ work for the Million Writers Award since we began our online publishing in 2013, and we wish our writers the best of luck in the award process. The Million Writers Award is an annual online award anthology curated and hosted by storySouth, honoring the best online short stories. Independent publishers are invited to nominate 3 short stories published in their online journals in the previous year, and each individual may additionally recommend one short story from a journal other than his own. Readers are then invited to recommend and vote on the year’s best online stories.

2016 Nominees

“Any Similarities between the Characters in This Purely Fictional Story and Actual Individuals Are Purely Coincidental” by Phill Arensberg (The Coil)
“It Won’t Always Be Like This” by Seth Clabough (The Coil)
“Fearsome Critters” by Justin Muschong (The Coil)

Our Recommendation: “Of Two Minds” by Marléne Zadig (Split Lip Magazine)

2015 Nominees

“Inheritance” by Stephanie Liden (The Coil)
“Chindi” by Eric Shonkwiler (The Coil)
“Frequencies Between” by Eric Shonkwiler (The Coil)

Our Recommendation: “Nettle Creek Cemetery” by Eric Shonkwiler (Cheap Pop)

2014 Nominees

“A Hindershot of Calion” by Schuler Benson (The Coil)
“A Slow Dance in the Afternoon” by Mia Eaker (The Coil)
“Stoop” by Alexa Mergen (The Coil)

Our Recommendation: “Rene” by Eric Shonkwiler (Fiddleblack)